Skip to content
November 1, 2013 / minusbar

Book Review: Apocalyptic Montessa and Nuclear Lulu: A tale of Atomic Love, by Mercedes M. Yardley

Book Review: “Apocalyptic Montessa and Nuclear Lulu: A Tale of Atomic Love” by Mercedes M. Yardley

Her mama always said she was special.

His daddy called him a demon.

But even monsters can fall in love.

Montessa Tovar is walking home alone when she is abducted by Lu, a serial killer with unusual talents and a grudge against the world. But in time, the victim becomes the executioner as ‘Apocalyptic’ Montessa and her doomed lover, ‘Nuclear’ Lulu, crisscross the country in a bloody firestorm of revenge.

I’m going to start with this statement: Apocalyptic Montessa and Nuclear Lulu: A tale of Atomic Love is a very short book that packed an enormous punch. I have never been so sucked into a story in only 98 pages–and I am very serious about this. Wherever Mercedes Yardley is, she should get a high five.

Now let me explain.

My first qualm was about the length. 98 pages (at least on my device)? That’s it? That’s barely filler for many sci-fi/fantasy/horror books. I was concerned that the plot would suffer, not to mention the development of the characters. However, although I did read the book in one setting (I couldn’t stop), I shouldn’t have worried. The plot unfolded quickly, but it wasn’t forced. It flowed naturally until the very end. I was actually impressed with how thorough the storyline was–it was better than some books I’ve read that weigh in at over one thousand pages.

The characters also came to life for me as I read. While there were a couple of supernatural elements involved, the two protagonists (Montessa and Lu) are very real people that I could relate to. Well, not the serial killer part, but their humanness. I was impressed  with Yardley’s subtle addition of clues to each of their pasts that gave a sense of why they are the way they are. I quickly became very attached to both of them, and may have shed tears at certain points throughout the novel.

The last point I’m going to touch on is the actual writing. I think that this novel was one of the most enthralling and fascinating, and it was the engaging writing style that made it so. I enjoyed the descriptions (they were all very fiery and destructive, but in a beautiful kind of way), and of course the dialogue. While I would like to warn potential readers that the novel is very violent and bloody in parts, that only made it even more interesting for me. After all, it’s not every day that you identify with two serial killers.

I would highly recommend this book, and right now it’s on sale for $2.99 here!

Thanks,

Molly

Leave a Reply

