Skip to content
August 21, 2013 / minusbar

“Blurred Lines” – Meshing Genres + Signed Winds of Khalakovo Giveaway

“Blurred Lines” by Roger Bellini

While the inclusion of scientific and fantastical elements in a single work is not entirely new, the genre does seem to have found new life as of late in the publishing world. Thanks to a slew of solid recent reads that blur the lines between fantasy and more historical science, I couldn’t resist the urge to share my thoughts on the trend.

One of my early reads this year was “Promise of Blood” by Brian McClellan. Thanks to wonderful characterization and a high octane plotline that moves steadily along, I found myself engrossed in a fantasy subgenre that I had yet to fully uncover. Instead of opting for a more traditional high fantasy setting, he decided to ground his story in a French Revolution-esque setting that introduced gun powder into a more traditional fantasy mold.

The really interesting thing about this was not necessarily that he included guns and magic in the same book, it was that he twisted the technology to fit within the setting of a magical world. He didn’t drop a jet plane in ancient Egypt and tell readers to deal with it, he crafted a system that made guns yet another type of magic. Technology is magical, and I found it refreshing to see it shown as such.

Another title that did a wonderful job of combining the genres is “No Return” by Zachary Jernigan. While this one skewed more toward fantastical elements, there is no denying that there was a distinct Sci-fi vibe given in the surroundings. Also, the use of alchemy as a means to attain power was handled in a way that I’ve yet to see done in a book.

It was like getting thrown into the mesh pot with a robot, a god and more than a dash of Full Metal Alchemist. While the title is significantly different from the others mentioned, it is still worth mentioning in this article due to the boldness of the writer to experiment with such creative and unorthodox world building elements.

Last, and certainly not least, The Winds of Khalakovo by Bradley P. Beaulieu is another title that defies the genre stereotypes to deliver an interesting twisting of genres. While I’ll not divulge all too much on this title quite yet, I will say it’s refreshing to see an airship battle in a fantasy novel. It reminds me a bit of the animated Treasure Planet film.

While I am unable to offer my full thoughts on the Beaulieu’s book just yet, as it is my current read, I can say that the title is quite good from what I have read so far. Once completed, you can expect a full review posted here. Until then though, there are details below on how you can win a signed copy of “The Winds of Khalakovo!”

Contest Entry Rules

One winner will be selected!

Signed by the author!

If the winner selected lives in the US or Canada, I will send them a signed copy of The Winds of Khalakovo. Sorry, but I am unable to ship worldwide!

Wait, wait though! I’ll not leave out the international entrees. Should an international person win, I will send you a $5 gift card to the book depository. See? I didn’t forget you guys!

Now how do I enter?

The saddest thing for a reviewer is to shell out our own money to provide these giveaways, only to find that we’ve only gotten a handful of invites. So, as much as possible, please help get the word out about the blog and this giveaway!

In exchange for you all helping me get the word out, I’ve made a conscious effort to make entering as painless as possible. There are a handful of ways you can win. I’ve listed them below, so feel free to do as many as you’d like to improve your odds of winning.

-Follow on facebook (all new follows from August 21st-28th will be automatically entered). If you’re already following, simply like the post about this contest on the facebook page.  – https://www.facebook.com/ADailyDoseOfRandR

-Follow on twitter (Let me know either in comments here or on the facebook page) – @Master_Pastry

-Follow via email (all new follows from August 21st-28th will be automatically entered) If you already follow through email, let me know in the comments here or on facebook that you would like to be entered.

-Tweet about the giveaway! Feel free to tweet about this giveaway to your friends in whatever words you’d like to use. Just remember to tag my twitter handle. You can also copy/paste this tweet if you’d like:

Win a free signed copy of Winds of Khalakovo by @Bbeaulier over at http://adailydoseofrandr.com/ @Master_pastry

Best of luck to all entries! The winner will be decided at random on the 29th. Winners will be contacted and given 48 hours to claim their prize before a new winner will be selected.

Thanks,

A Daily Dose of R&R

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Carla / Aug 21 2013 9:28 pm

    I have fulfilled all of your requirements. Do I get brownie points?

    • minusbar / Aug 21 2013 9:46 pm

      You want brownies? But you’re so much better at baking than me!

Leave a Reply

