Skip to content
April 24, 2013 / minusbar

Book Review: Avatar, The Last Airbender: The Search Pt. 1, by Dark Horse Comics

Book Review: “Avatar, The Last Airbender: The Search Pt. 1” by Dark Horse Comics

Why do I torture myself by reading these before they are concluded?  It kills me to submerge myself into these plots and always get left impatiently waiting for the next volume! The issue here is not that this wasn’t fulfilling, it’s that I am addicted and crave more to feed this unhealthy need I’ve developed. Dark Horse, I must yet again commend you for a strong entry in the continuation of Aang and Zuko’s stories. This is proving to be the perfect filler to hold me over until more Legend of Korra airs, I just want even more filling!

For years, fans of Avatar: The Last Airbender and The Legend of Korra have burned with one question – what happened to Fire Lord Zuko’s mother? Finding a clue at last, Zuko enlists the aid of Team Avatar – and the most unlikely ally of all – to help uncover the biggest secret of his life.

Alright, so the story takes place as a direct continuation of the graphic novel, The Promise (which I reviewed a while back: Here). We’re still exploring the mysteries of Zuko’s mother, only this time Azula’s with the gang. And wow has she gotten crazy! To be perfectly honest, I liked it better when she was less crazy and more intimidating and manipulative. It seemed as though she possessed more power then and made her more believable to me as an antagonist. I expect her to be ruthless and cunning, not brash and spontaneous. That’s a matter of personal taste, not necessarily a negative on the way she is written as she remains a compelling character.

The cutesy dialogue between Aang and Katara is something I don’t think I will ever really get used to. I enjoyed the playful shyness that they both portrayed in the TV series. Now we’re getting to see that puppy dog love that follows when someone’s experiencing their first real crush. It’s a nice touch for fans who have been craving the chance to see this love realized for a while now, but, for me, it can pull me out of the moment.

It’s nice to see a strong flowing story arc developing in this volume rather than what felt like a separated episode mini-story in the last one. I’ve got to admit that a very intriguing ending has me dying to get my dirty paws on Pt. 2. Overall, this is another very strong entry in an impressive series. I’m in my 20’s, so you don’t have to be ashamed if you’re an adult and addicted to this series…  It hits all of the right nostalgia buttons for me and delivers levels of character development that many adult shows only wish they could achieve.

Now available for purchase Here!

This book was provided to me for free in exchange for an honest review.

Thanks,

Roger Bellini

 

Leave a Reply

