Skip to content
January 12, 2013 / minusbar

Book Review: Avatar, The Last Airbender: The Promise, by Dark Horse Comics

Book Review: “Avatar, The Last  Airbender: The Promise” by Dark Horse Comics

Image

The Last Airbender was a highly influential show for me. In many ways, it is the roots of my renewed love of fantasy. After I had fallen away from reading often, I began watching this television series with my little sister. The two of us quickly fell in love with the story telling. The show created a perfect cast of characters that are fun and colorful, yet deep and layered at the same time. Because of the fantasy elements of this story, I then began dedicating time again to reading fantasy literature. When I saw this comic, I was delighted to have a chance to expand upon the already amazing story of young Avatar Aang and his group of friends.

Without giving away the story, I can tell you this novel deals directly with the aftermath of where the tv show ends. For this reason, I would not recommend this title to someone who is not familiar with the source material. However, if you’re a fan of the tv show then you are in for a real treat. All of the characters are true to form. I could picture everything animated out in my mind; Sokka’s jokes, Toph’s name-calling, Aang’s boyish naivety, everything! For that alone I would have been satisfied. Surprisingly though the story proved to be far more than just a standalone bit of filler. It felt like logical and necessary step to bridge the time gap between the original series and the ongoing Legend of Korra sequel.

The animation is so close to the tv show’s that I felt like I was reading a lost storyboard that there just wasn’t time to animate. This is meant as a huge compliment to the animators as I considered this cartoon to be one of the most visually appealing I have ever watched. The simplicity and brightness of the world makes it very accessible. And, as always, the series wonderfully pays tribute to bits of Chinese culture by subtly incorporating pieces of their culture into the story.

Honestly, there was little chance I wouldn’t love this story. I’m very much a fanboy of this series. I eagerly anticipate the sequel to this comic, The Search, that will *hopefully* finally answer the questions about Zuko’s mother that every Avatar fan so adamantly desires to hear! Read it, love it, and thank me later!

This book was provided to me for free in exchange for an honest review.

Thanks,

Roger Bellini

Leave a Reply

